Website Manager



News Detail


Feb, 2014

Celebrating 40 Years of Little League Softball®

Celebrating Little League Softball® Graduates
Crystl Bustos
Sue Enquist
Rachele Fico
Heather Tarr
Angela Tincher
Michele Wie


Today Little League® is the world’s largest and most respected youth sports organization with more than 2.3 million participants playing Little League Baseball and Softball in all 50 states and more than 80 countries across the world.

2002 – In 2002, Windmills Little League of Utrecht, Netherlands, becomes the first European team to win a World Series (Junior League Softball World Series).

2001 – Little League expanded television coverage to include the championship of each Softball World Series for the 2001 tournament season to be broadcast on ESPN2.

Rosario Y Cardona Little League (Puerto Rico) became the first international team to win a Little League Softball World Series.

1989 – Canada was the first international county to submit a tournament team into the International Tournament (Senior Division).

1982 – In 1982, Little League expands the teenage offerings to include Big League Softball

1974 – In 1974, Little Leagues Federal Charter and rules are amended to allow participation by girls, and Little League creates the Major and Senior League Softball programs.

Later that year, the first Little League Softball World Series Tournament is help in Freeport, N.Y., where Wellswood Little League earns the first championship title.

1939 – Founded by Carl Stotz

For More Information visit:
Copyright © 2024 Louisiana Little League  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In